NAR to Hold Real Estate Summit at Midyear Meetings in Washington, DC

Compelled by the insistent fact that housing has always led this nation out of economic troubles, the National Association of Realtors is hosting the “Real Estate Summit: Advancing the U.S. Economy on Tuesday, May 12 during the Midyear Legislative Meetings & Trade Expo in Washington, DC.

The all-day summit will feature first-rate keynote speakers and two dynamic panels of experts in the areas of finance and real estate, who will be challenged to determine solutions to the present crisis, ensuring we never face this crisis in the future.

The aim of the Summit is twofold: to alleviate the fears, troubles and reluctance of thousands of American home owners and buyers about entering the real estate markets, thus sparking the national economy; and second, to show the nation that NAR cares about the plight of housing in America and is actively doing many things to address this.

The Summit will open with the Legislative & Political Forum hosting a contrast in views from conservative commentator Pat Buchanan and former U.S. Rep. Harold Ford (D-Tenn.). Both will address the causes of the present crisis and will offer opinions on how to move forward.

Following the Forum, an all-star panel of experts from many fields will address challenges and solutions in “Reshaping Real Estate to Sustain Communities.” The panel draws upon distinguished participants from academia, economics, the real estate industry, and government, and will be moderated by Ron Insana, CNBC, senior analyst and financial industry expert.

In the afternoon session, another panel will examine the topic “Financing Real Estate for Tomorrow.” The composition of both panels will be announced later.

Between the two panels, the HOPE Awards (Home Ownership Participation for Everyone) will acknowledge five 2009 award winners for their efforts in increasing the ranks for minority homeownership. Winners will describe the efficacy of their programs. NAR and its five diversity real estate partners present the awards every two years.

%d bloggers like this: